HRNJ-Uganda alert; Journalists elect new leadership. (Demo)

Kampala, 24th/November/2014; journalists under their umbrella body, the Human Rights Network for Journalists-Uganda (HRNJ-Uganda) have elected new leaders of the Executive Board at an Annual General Meeting, held at Pope Paul IV Memorial Hotel in Kampala on November 22, 2014.

A Vision Group journalist, Julius Esegu who was a member of the previous Board, was elected Chairman of a 9-man team for the next 3 years, replacing Mulindwa Mukasa who did not contest for a 2nd term. Daily Monitor’s Mayamba Johnson was unanimously elected as vice Chairperson replacing K-FM’s News Editor and anchor, Hadijah Mwanje.

The Vision Group’ Saul Wokulira Wambuzi and Francis Tumwekwasize Bahene retained their port folios as Secretary and treasurer respectively, Gladys Kigozi is the Deputy Treasurer replacing Kiggundu Joseph. Other Board Members include Enid Ninsiima, Luke Kagiri, Ronald Kalumba and Tom Kalumula.

The out-going were members awarded certificates in recognition of their commendable contribution to the defence and promotion of media rights and journalists’ freedoms. Others awarded include, the former National Coordinator, Geoffrey Wokulira Ssebaggala for his founding role, veteran journalist Haruna Kanaabi and the National Coordinator Robert Ssempala for steering the Organisation.

In his maiden speech, Esegu reiterated his commitment to strengthening the Organisation in order to defend and promote media freedoms and rights. The outgoing Chairperson, Mulindwa commended members of his Board and the technical team at the Secretariat for the achievements within his term in office. The National Coordinator, Ssempala hailed the outgoing Board for giving strategic guidance and leadership to the Organisation.

Leave a comment